Notary Services

The Jessamine County Clerk’s Office offers notary services for your convenience.


Who can become a notary?

The following requirements must be met:

  • Must be eighteen (18) years old or older;
  • Must be of good moral character;
  • Must be capable of discharging duties imposed by law;
  • Must NOT be a convicted felon.

How can I become a notary?

  • An Application for Appointment for Notary State at Large must be completed and signed by the applicant.
  • The application must also be signed by a Circuit Judge, Circuit Clerk, County Judge/Executive, County Clerk, Magistrate, or Member of the General Assembly of the county where the applicant applies. (If applying in Jessamine County, please call our office at 859-885-4161 to obtain a signed application.)
  • The applicant must apply in either the county of residence or the county of primary employment. (This includes people who live in another state but work in a Kentucky county).
  • The application should be mailed to Notary Commissions, PO Box 821, Frankfort, KY 40602-0821. Include a check or money order for $10.00 made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer.
  • If approved, the applicant will be notified by mail that a “Certificate of Appointment” has been mailed to the county clerk’s office. The notice will indicate a thirty (30) day time period for the applicant to go to the county clerk’s office.
  • The applicant must come in to the county clerk’s office to be sworn in.  The notary must provide government issued ID.  There is a $19.00 recording fee ($10.00 for recording the bond, $4.00 for taking/preparing the bond, and $5.00 for administering the oath. KRS 64.012).
  • A surety bond in the amount of $500.00 is required. Bond may be posted one of two ways:
  1. A Jessamine County property owner may sign as surety. Government issued ID is required to post bond in  front of county clerk (Anyone who owns property in Jessamine County to which the notary is NOT on the deed.) * If a property owner will be signing as surety, but is unable to come into the office with the notary, he or she may complete the Notary Public Bond form. This form must be signed by the property owner and notarized. This form can only be used by a property owner, NOT by an insurance company. An individual can only sign as surety for one notary.  Click here for the form.
  2. An insurance company may sign as surety. (Check with the insurance agency of your choice to request notary bond information.)


The notary would need to have completed the application process in Jessamine County.

You must bring in the document that the notary has signed. If the notary’s signature is illegible, you must be able to tell us the name so we can locate the record to verify the signature.

The fee is $5 per notary signature that we certify.

Effective 7/12/06 Fees effective 8/1/06